Skip to content
MM MM mercury symbol Omega symbol Shock symbol letter m with hat on MM Spooky tree

Mechanical Animals

Third Marilyn Manson studio album - released 15 September 1998. Nothing/Interscope INTD-90273.

Mechanical Animals album cover Omega symbol.
  1. Great Big White World
  2. The Dope Show
  3. Mechanical Animals
  4. Rock Is Dead
  5. Disassociative
  6. The Speed Of Pain
  7. Posthuman
  8. I Want To Disappear
  9. I Don't Like The Drugs (But The Drugs Like Me)
  10. User Friendly
  11. New Model No. 15
  12. Fundamentally Loathsome
  13. The Last Day On Earth
  14. Coma White
  15. (Untitled)

To access the untitled 15th track, you need to play the CD on your computer. A flash file opens, showing two of Manson's paintings and playing music by Pogo and Manson, with Manson narrating. And it loops until you click 'quit'.

Mechanical Animals double LP, vinyl
limited edition of 5,000? [UK - December 1998].
One record is white, one is blue
  • Mechanical Animals vinyl, 2 LPs
  • Two lyric sheets, art and photos
  • One plain white vinyl and one transparent blue vinyl decoder, as with the CD
Mechanical Animals CD and comic book
I have to sort this bit out. There are two different versions of MA with comic books. With both, the comic book artwork by Marcus Wild is based on scenes from the video for 'I Don't Like The Drugs (But The Drugs Like Me)'. I'm assuming that both have the same 15 tracks as listed above but I need to check.

The easier to find version comes with a CD sized comic. It's classed as a regular commercial release but is called the European Festival Tour Edition, or the German Tour Edition, depending on who I'm listening to this week. Released in June 1999?

The harder to find one is the promotional Limited number Tour Edition. Limited to 1000 copies, each one is numbered. Released in June 1999? The comic with this one is larger.

The contents are in a blue clear plastic cover. Inside is a gatefold presenter housing the CD and the comic book of artwork.

  • Mechanical Animals CD
  • 20 page, 8 x 8 inch comic book
  • all in a 10 x 10 inch blue plastic envelope cover
  • catalogue number ADV-490394-2
The CD and comic book come in a cardboard cover that has a version of the same drawing on the front as the comic does - that is, the drawing is based on the regular MA front cover photography. Everything goes into a 10x10 inch clear blue plastic cover with a parental advisory sticker on it saying it is the promo tour edition and giving its limited edition number.

Mechanical Animals comic version

Mechanical Animals comic

Mechanical Animals special edition
Picture CD? [Asia? October 1998]
  • Mechanical Animals CD1 (15 tracks as above)
  • CD2:
    • The Dope Show (Video)
    • Sweet Dreams (Video)
    • The Beautiful People (Video)
Singles from Mechanical Animals era:
  1. The Dope Show
  2. I Don't Like The Drugs (But The Drugs Like Me)
  3. Rock is Dead
Tracks on Mechanical Animals singles

Although there is a video for Coma White, no commercial CD single was released, only a one-track promotional CD. The basis of the Coma White video is a re-enactment of the assassination of US President John F Kennedy.